Moving on to Greener Pastures: Goodbye Dr. Travelocity Gnome

So, I just broke up with Dr. Travelocity Gnome. Over email.

Not sure why I’m feeling so conflict averse today, seeing how I punched a car yesterday, but here I am.

The new psychiatrist (moniker forthcoming) is great, and I think it’s a good fit. I really like him, and I think I’ve been gushing a little bit. Michael raised his eyebrow at me and said, “okaaaaaaay.” Like, dude, you totally have a crush on your shrink.

And I’m all, No I don’t. That would be crazy.

But maybe I do, a little. It’s totally a platonic crush, though.

You see, I went in with no real expectations, thinking this guy is only needed to manage (and prescribe) my meds, so as long as he doesn’t completely suck, he’ll do.

And he doesn’t suck. At all. So, that’s pretty awesome.

We talked about treatment goals, and he said he’d like to wait a few months, get to know me a little better and then see where we are. So, no med changes just yet. He did say that he’s not typically a fan of prescribing antidepressants for bipolar disorder, but if the Pristiq is working for me, then we’ll leave it alone, for now.

I like that he doesn’t have “Better Living Through Chemistry”  written on his Rx pad, like the Gnome does. He said that the key to treating bipolar disorder is a combination of therapy/lifestyle changes and proper medication. So, it’s not just throwing a bunch of pills at it and seeing what sticks. I like that.

He suggested I talk to my therapist about Interpersonal and Social Rhythm Therapy.

He even gave me the name of a therapist at GW who specializes in it, but he said it’s all pretty intuitive, so I could probably glean what I need from just reading about it.

I told him I’m not able to recognize the early warning signs of mania, and so I am not equipped to ward it off. He said I just need to learn what my triggers are, and then develop strategies from there. He directed me to MoodChart which is a free, online clinical service. It started out as part of a GW research study, but is still available and managed by a psychologist. The plan is for me to chart my mood daily, and then print out the graph and bring it with me to each appointment. It should be interesting to see if there are any patterns.

So, that’s it, that’s all.

Today’s a better day than yesterday. And at this particular point and time, that’s good enough for me.

2 thoughts on “Moving on to Greener Pastures: Goodbye Dr. Travelocity Gnome

  1. Sounds like you’ve found someone who’s got his head screwed on the right way. I felt the same last week when I made contact with my new general practitioner (as my old one has gone on maternity leave). It felt so reassuring to talk to someone who acknowledged that this condition isn’t just about medication – it’s about learning how to live a life that is going to enable us to stay stable. I hope things continue to go well for you 😀

    • “…it’s about learning how to live a life that is going to enable us to stay stable.”

      Exaaaaaactly. Doctors need to remember that they are treating individuals–not disorders. It’s not like there is a one-size-fits-all treatment for this. If only! Glad you’ve found a good fit with your new GP. 🙂

Leave a Reply

