When the Doctor is Away

This is a great post from bi[polar] curious. I haven’t implemented this kind of detailed emergency plan yet, but will now, after reading this post.

bi[polar] curious

Many people I know who experience symptoms of mental illness have partnered up with a therapist, psychiatrist, prescribing nurse, or general doctor to aid in their care. These kinds of relationships may take a lot of time and effort to grow, and from my own experience I can say that things like trust and understanding don’t come immediately, they generally take some time to form.

That said, it can be a harrowing experience when you have built this kind of relationship and lose access to it when your professional partner in care is sick, experiencing an emergency, or taking time off.

I know I’ve talked a little bit about this before, but my recent circumstances (basically experiencing intense symptoms and being unable to work while my psychiatrist is out of town) have been something of a reminder that it is never a bad time to create a plan in case…

View original post 1,182 more words

Leave a Reply

